Who I am

Hello, my name is Stephan.

Most people know me from one of these angles: high-school, community service, student of business economics at the „Kaderschmiede“ BA, then manager in an international corporation, afterwards successfully self-employed in sales and finally the foundation of my own PLC focusing on international HR consulting.

My rather crazy side: At age 24 after graduating from university I decided to travel to more than 100 countries and speak up to 10 world languages within the next 10 years.

Why did I create this page? It shall give answers to two of the most frequent questions people ask me:

How did you manage to travel to so many countries? How did you learn that many languages?

My personal experience makes me feel that by travelling the world and by learning foreign languages you can contribute to a better understanding between nations,  reduction in prejudgements and hereby making the world a better place.

I would like to share my experiences with everyone who is interested in travel and languages and would like to inspire them to follow their dreams and wishes and broaden his or her horizon.

Polyglott meets Wanderlust

Polyglott meets Wanderlust – this is understood in German as well as in English. But what is the actual meaning behind?

(A) Polyglot is somebody who speaks several foreign languages fluently. In my case those are at the moment eight languages and I am currently working on two further ones. With an appropriate curiosity, defined goals and some hard work practically everybody is able to learn new languages.

Wanderlust is an originally German word borrowed by the English languages which becomes more and more popular in the recent years comprising a meaning of desire to travel to foreign places.

Furthermore there is the so called „wanderlust gen“ named DRD4-7R (I definitely have it!) and also gen stands for today’s „wanderlust generation“ – who needs career and materialism when out there so many exciting things are ready to be discovered? „Collect memories, not things“ is one of my favourite sayings.

During summer 2016 after years of intensive travel I finally broke the 100 destinations threshold which seemed to be unreachable thinking back to my situation and especially finances in my early and mid twenties. Having a clear goal in front of your eyes everybody can achieve such crazy things, even without completely leaving society for  a couple of years like in my case (Though I had that also in mind, might still come up) 😉

My top 10 advices for (world) traveling

Loading...

My top 10 advices for learning (world) languages

Loading...

“Aktion Straßenkinder” – my contribution for the poorest

One thing that admittedly haunts and burdens me on many of my trips is the poverty of many people, especially of that of children. I already have a sponsorship for an African child via Plan and donate to various charities. For this page I am going to donate a part of my yearly earnings at the end of the year to a German charity called “Aktion Straßenkinder e.V.” from Adelberg near Stuttgart which is my kind of adopted home as I spent the first 10 years of my life in that region.

Aktion Straßenkinder e.V.

Newsletter

You always want to keep yourself informed and receive news directly into your email account? Then subscribe to our Newsletter! Just insert your name and email address and there we go!


Media coverage

Stephan was featured i.a. in the following media

Wer ich bin

Hallo, ich heiße Stephan.

Die meisten Leute kennen mich von dieser Seite: Abitur, Zivi, BWL-Student an der „Kaderschmiede“ BA, dann Manager im internationalen Konzern, anschließend erfolgreich Selbständig im Vertrieb und schließlich Gründung einer eigene GmbH in der internationalen Personalberatung.

Meine eher verrückte Seite: Mit 24 Jahren, nach Ende des BWL Studiums, habe ich beschlossen, binnen 10 Jahren die 100 Länder Marke zu knacken und bis zu 10 Weltsprachen zu lernen.

Weshalb ich diese Seite ins Leben gerufen habe? Sie soll die Antwort auf die zwei mir am häufigsten gestellten Fragen geben:

Wie hast du so viele Länder bereisen können? Wie hast du so viele Sprachen gelernt?

Meinen persönlichen Erfahrungen nach spüre ich, dass die Welt bereisen und andere Sprachen lernen einen Teil zur Verständigung der Völker beiträgt, Vorurteile abbaut und die Welt zu einem besseren Ort macht.

Ich möchte jedem, der Interesse an den Themen Sprachen & Reisen hat, von meinen Erfahrungen berichten und ihn dazu inspirieren, seinen Träumen und Wünschen zu folgen und seinen Horizont zu erweitern.

Polyglott meets Wanderlust

Polyglott meets Wanderlust – versteht man sowohl im Deutschen, wie auch auf Englisch. Aber was steckt dahinter?

(Ein) Polyglott ist jemand, der mehrere Fremdsprachen fließend spricht. Bei mir sind es momentan acht Sprachen und ich arbeite aktuell an zwei weiteren. Mit entsprechender Neugierde, definierten Zielen und etwas harter Arbeit kann praktisch jeder neue Sprachen lernen.

Wanderlust ist ein dem Deutschen entliehenes englisches Wort, welches in den letzten Jahren wieder in die Mode gekommen ist und in etwa dem Wort „Fernweh“ entspricht.

Es gibt darüber hinaus das sog. „Wanderlust-Gen“ namens DRD4-7R (ich habe es definitiv!) und ebenfalls für die heutige „Generation Wanderlust“ – wer braucht schon Karriere und Materialismus, wenn da draußen so viele spannende Dinge entdeckt werden wollen? „Collect memories, not things“ ist einer meiner Lieblingssprüche.

Ende 2016 habe bin ich nach Jahren intensiven Reisens die 100 Destinationen Marke geknackt, die mir Anfang/Mitte 20 aufgrund meiner damaligen Lebenssituation und vor allem Finanzen unerreichbar schien. Mit einem klaren Ziel vor den Augen kann jeder solche verrückten Dinge erreichen, ohne wie in meinem Fall komplett für einige Jahre aus der „Gesellschaft“ auszusteigen (hatte ich auch schon vor, kann noch kommen 😉 )

Meine 10 Ratschläge für das (Welt)-Reisen

Meine Erfahrungen aus Reisen in über 100 Ländern habe ich hier gesammelt, kurz und knackig zusammengefasst.

Loading...

Meine 10 Ratschläge für das Erlernen von (Welt)-Sprachen

Loading...

Aktion Straßenkinder – Mein Beitrag für die Ärmsten

Was mich zugegebenermaßen auf vielen meinen Reisen verfolgt und sehr belastet, ist die große Armut vieler Menschen, vor allem von Kindern. Ich habe selbst seit langem ein Patenkind bei Plan und spende bei verschiedenen Organisationen. Für diese Seite werde ich einen Teil meiner Einnahmen am Jahresende spenden an die Aktion Straßenkinder e.V. aus Adelberg bei Stuttgart nahe meiner Wahlheimat, wo ich etwa zehn Jahre meines Lebens verbracht habe.

Aktion Straßenkinder e.V.

Newsletter

Du willst immer auf dem Laufenden bleiben und News ganz easy direkt in dein E-Mail-Postfach erhalten? Dann melde dich zu meinem Newsletter an! Einfach Name und E-Mail-Adresse eingeben und los geht’s!


Medien

Stephan ist u.a. bekannt aus folgenden Medien