India 2007 

My TV “career” on international television started rather by random. I was just standing in a souvenir shop close to the Taj Mahal in Agra when my best friend at that time Christoph dragged me out of the shop directly in front of a camera. “This is CNN, they want to interview some white foreigners”, he still could say before the interviews started. CNN at that time was looking for footage of tourists who dared to visit Taj Mahal just shortly after the bomb attacks in Agra. Thus I was able to say some nice words about the Taj Mahal and why we chose India as our travel destination, similar what my travel mates Christoph, Andy and our Japanese friend Kei already did. Despite CNN told us the time of the planned broadcast the same evening, we were not able to watch us on TV. For this reason I always ask for the business card of the reporter since that day.

Georgia 2009 

The second time was less exotic. My work those days was the market launch of BlackBerry across the EMEA region working for Alcatel-Lucent being the cooperation partner of RIM. During the press conference for the launch of BlackBerry with our customer Magticom in Georgia I could make some short statements which were then simultaneously translated and subtitled with the kind of funny alphabet characters of Georgian language and was broadcasted the same evening still. This time I was able to get hold of the recording via my customer!

Spain 2012

In my new occupation as owner of an international HR consulting company I was broadcasted live on nationwide TV some 5-6 times and featured in shorter coverages around 10 times.  Being live in front of the camera with the simultaneous questions of the reporter in front of you and of the studio guests via ear inlay (of course all of them speaking far too fast Spanish) is definitively a challenge, especially if you know that some hundred thousand Spanish people are watching you live and would certainly be amused by some mistake the “stupid” German might perform.

Germany 2013 

In the year 2013 I finally reached German TV as well. Together with a customer I was able to give some statements in the roughly 1,5 minutes overage of “Hamburg-Journal” on NDR in the north of Germany.

One year later I was featured in a whole reportage with a total of almost 10 days of filming in Spain and in Palatinate together with a customer and his Spanish employee who was recruited by my company. After the filming I was sure that I won’t become an actor at least not within this life! Every tiny piece had to be performed a over and over again until the film maker was happy and in the end she puzzled all  statements and scenes together in a way which fulfilled her cliche which the viewers later could perfectly get upset about. In our case it was the negative stereotype of the bad entrepreneur which German press usually likes to generate, while in the end my customer was displayed far worse than the part of myself and my company.

Croatia 2016 

It seemed as obviously my Spanish TV adventures were not enough, therefore I made an appearance in a short spot on “Dubrovnik TV” in Croatia. Because my language school was celebrating an anniversary a camera crew from local TV came over and I was kind of forced to speak some sentences of Croatian language (mixed with some Russian) after just one week of class. But in the end it was totally worth it!

Next country? 

I am really curious in which country I am going to be interviewed the next time to put in my oar…

You can check out some selected video clips here

Indien

Angefangen hat meine „Karriere“ im internationalen TV eher rein zufällig: Ich war gerade in einem Souvenirshop unweit des Taj Mahal in Agra, als mich plötzlich mein damaliger bester Freund Christoph aus dem Shop und vor eine Kamera zerrte: „Das ist CNN, die wollen noch einen weiteren weißen Ausländer interviewen“ sagte er noch, bevor es los ging.  CNN suchte damals Stimmen von Touristen, die sich relativ kurze Zeit nach den dortigen Bombenanschlägen nach Agra trauten. Ich durfte also ein paar schöne Worte über den Taj Mahal und Indien als Reiseland generell sagen, wie auch zuvor Christoph sowie Andy und unsere japanische Freundin Kei. Uns wurde dann noch die Uhrzeit für die Ausstrahlung am selben Abend mitgegeben, aber leider konnten wir uns damals leider nicht sehen. Aus diesem Grund lasse ich mir seither immer eine Visitenkarte des jeweiligen Reporters geben.

Georgien 

Das zweite Mal war nicht weniger exotisch. Ich war damals für Alcatel-Lucent kreuz und quer in EMEA Ländern mit der Markteinführung der BlackBerry Lösung als Kooperationspartner der Herstellers RIM aktiv. Hierbei durfte ich auf einer Pressekonferenz zum Launch von BlackBerry in Georgien bei unserem Kunden Magticom einige Sätze auf Englisch sagen, welche danach simultan übersetzt und mit der lustigen Zeichenschrift in diesem interessanten Land versehen noch am gleichen Abend ausgestrahlt wurden. Über meinen Kunden habe ich dann tatsächlich diese Aufnahmen auch bekommen diesmal!

Spanien 

In meiner neuen Betätigung als Inhaber einer internationalen Personalvermittlung war ich dann seit 2012 in Spanien etwa 5-6 Mal landesweit live im Fernsehen und noch an knapp 10 weiteren kürzeren Berichten und Reportagen beteiligt. Live vor der Kamera mit den gleichzeitigen Fragen des Reporters vor dir oder der Studiogästen per Knopf im Uhr (natürlich alles auf viel zu schnell gesprochenem Spanisch) und mit dem Wissen, dass sicher mehrere Hunderttausend Spanier live zuschauen und sich sicherlich über einen Ausrutscher des „dummen Deutschen“ freuen würden, ist sicherlich eine der größeren Herausforderungen für ich gewesen.

Deutschland 

In 2013 wurde es dann auch etwas mit dem deutschen Fernsehen. Ich durfte zusammen mit einem Kunden aus Hamburg in einem gut eineinhalb minütigen Bereich im „Hamburg-Journal“ des NDR ein paar Statements abgeben.

Ein Jahr darauf wurde sogar eine ausführliche Reportage mit insgesamt fast 10 Drehtagen in Spanien sowie in der Pfalz zusammen mit einem Kunden und dessen von meiner Firma vermittelten spanischen Facharbeiters gedreht. Danach wusste ich: Schauspieler werde ich in diesem Leben nicht mehr! Jede Kleinigkeit muss tausend mal durch gespielt werden, bis es passt und am Ende stellt der Filmemacher alle Aussagen und Szenen so dar, dass diese in sein gewünschtes Klischee passen und die Zuschauer sich schön darüber aufregen können: In unserem Falle war das Feindbild wie so oft in der deutschen Presse der „böse Unternehmer“, wobei mein Kunde wesentlich schlechter als ich als Geschäftsführer meiner Firma dargestellt wurde.

Kroatien

Da mir ein spanischer TV Auftritt offensichtlich noch nicht reichte, kam Ende 2016 noch ein kurzer Bericht über mich auf „Dubrovnik TV“ in Kroatien hinzu. Da meine dortige Sprachschule ein Jubiläum feierte, kam ein Kamerateam vom lokalen Sender vorbei und ich durfte nach gerade mal einer Woche Unterricht einige Sätze auf Kroatisch (natürlich mit leichtem Abschweifen ins Russische) sagen. Aber der Spaß war es eindeutig wert!

Nächstes Land? 

Ich bin mal sehr gespannt, wo ich das nächste Mal meine Birne in eine Kamera rein halten darf, um meinen Senf dazu zu geben…

Einige ausgesuchte Mitschnitte könnt ih euch hier ansehen